top of page

A Japa Mala in Sanskrit -  mālā, meaning 'garland' is a loop of prayer beads commonly used in Indian religions such as Hinduism, Buddhism, Jainism, Sikhism, for counting recitations (japa) of mantras, prayers or other sacred phrases. It is also worn to connect us to energies, intentions, desires, manifestations and for sadhana (spiritual practice) and for medtiation. 


  • WHY 108 BEADS

The number 108 has a very powerful significance in the science and spirituality of India. There are 108 letters in the Sanskrit alphabet! Vedic mathematicians measured the Sun’s diameter to be 108 times larger than the diameter of the Earth, measured the distance between the Sun and Earth to be 108 times the Sun’s diameter. In the yogic tradition, we find 108 sacred texts of the Upanishads, 108 sacred holy sites in India, and 108 marma (acupressure-like) points on the body. In the bhakti yoga tradition, stories are told of 108 gopis dancing with Krishna in Vrindavan, and there are 108 names of the goddess. In tantric yoga, 108 energy lines are described throughout the body and they all converge and connect at the heart chakra.


  • 109th BEAD

The largest bead in a mala necklace is called the guru (teacher) or meru (mountain) bead. It is located at the center of the mala and serves as a marker for the start and end of the 108 beads.

The guru bead is considered the most important part of the mala and symbolizes the relationship between the student and the teacher or guru.



Before you begin, you can bow to each of the 4 directions to connect with the universe.

Set an intention or devotion for your meditation.

Start by finding a comfortable seat.

Hold your mala at the guru bead (the big one) between your thumb and middle or ring finger (the pointer finger is associated with the ego, which is undesirable).  As your meditation progresses, you will move the beads through your fingers one at a time.

You can use the mala with your breath or use it to count through a mantra or chant. 

Once finished take a moment to honor your practice and offer up a prayer and gratitude. 


This Mala has....


  • Rudraksha

Rudra is the name of Shiva and Aksh or Aksha means tears. Hence, Rudraksha means the tears of Shiva. Shiva is one of the Trideva or Trimurti (3 major gods), who are: Brahma "the creator", Vishnu "the preserver" and Shiva "the destroyer".

These seeds, which are full of life, have been mentioned constantly throughout religious texts and cultures. Shaivism is considered to be the oldest living religion in the world and is a subset of Hinduism. This community of worshipers chooses to follow Lord Shiva. This Supreme Being is also referred to as Rudra and is known as the creator and destroyer of all things. Some followers believe that Shiva is not only the almighty energy around them but also the spark within them. Many practitioners believed Shiva was the spirit they harnessed as well as the expander of their own personal consciousness. Rudraksha beads encourage the connection between you and the Lord Shiva, while reaffirming the spiritual essence you have within.


  • Lotus Seed  

The symbol of power, strength, beauty and spiritual knowledge. 


  • Sandalwood

Sacred wood for peace and to empower rituals when worshipping any dieties, gurus or ascended masters. 

Promotes connection and enhances meditation.


Mala Prayer




RED JAPA Meditation Mālā

    • 8mm Crystal Beads.
    • Knotted in between each bead with red nylon thread
    • Cotton Tassel
    • Handmade with love
    • Avoid getting the Mala wet to protect the crystal beads
    • Mala hangs just below the navel around 52cm long
    • Mala will come in a box with a guidance card and Mala Prayer
bottom of page